PDA

View Full Version : home made flue pan

doop
04-21-2016, 08:17 PM
I let my buddy run my evaporator this year and he managed to destroy my pans. I was hoping to get new ones eventually anyway as they were English tin. So my question is this. I'm a carpenter and we have a heavy duty sheet metal press back at the shop and was wondering if you think it would be possible to bend 8 inch flues with it? I was thinking 1 inch between flues. Any advice is welcome.

Big_Eddy
04-22-2016, 07:08 AM
It all depends on what you have for a press / brake to bend the stainless. A typical sheet metal brake is not designed to make a deep and narrow flue, but it is simple enough to do if you build purpose specific tooling. Welding up the stainless is also critical. You need a good TIG weldor, experienced at thin stainless.

Lots of threads on here about making flue pans. Try a search in the homemade forum.

doop
05-05-2016, 09:20 PM
Ok so I ended up having my flue pan bent up at a fab shop, but they didn't have anyone that could tig. 22 gauge s.s. couldn't find anyone else either. The friend who burnt my pans brother in law is a structural welder and says he can do it,but I'm not sure I wanna risk my investment. Besides he wants to trade me putting up a building for him welding the pans. I don't know if I like that trade. So I'm pretty proficient at soldering and just ordered some stay brite 8 and their flux and am planning on soldering it. Does anybody wanna try to talk me out of it. Or have any suggestions? Thanks.

Big_Eddy
05-06-2016, 10:58 AM
Let's address the friend first. Structural welding and thin stainless are to welding like orthopedics and brain surgery are to medicine. Give him 10-20 scraps of 22ga and ask him to weld them into a mini staircase before you let him near your pan. He might surprise you, but if he hasn't had experience at it, your pan isn't where you want him to learn.