PDA

View Full Version : Exciting times: new evaporator and maybe shack

mudr
04-20-2016, 08:08 PM
After two years of running my craptastic 4 steam pan rig, I have put in a deposit on a 2x6. Looking forward to running a real rig next year. I had some extra funds come available after I placed the order on the rig. So now my wife, who is more than just supportive but an active participant in my operation, said we need to build a shack this year. I was initially hoping for 2017. Now I'm trying to figure out prices and when to do it. It might happen in September. We may lean heavily on my brother, who is a very talented and skilled carpenter. I'm not really good at that stuff. Give me a drill and I can drill where needed. Give me a saw and I can cut. Designing a building? Not so much. I'm a better laborer, so I need guidance.

Thinking 16x24, 3x8 cupola. 8 or 10 ft walls, want to be able to put in a lean too later that my head won't hit, and I'm 6 ft 4.

Exciting times my friends!

MISugarDaddy
04-21-2016, 05:28 AM
Congratulations on the new evaporator and the opportunity to also add a new sugarhouse to house it. I would suggest the taller walls because as with everything else, the bigger the better. Good luck with everything this summer, hopefully you can get started before September so you have it all closed in and finished on the outside before Mother Nature starts making it not so fun to be working outside.
Gary

mainebackswoodssyrup
04-21-2016, 05:38 AM
Heck with the evaporator and shack, congrats on the wife :lol: It sure is nice to have their support, if not a necessity. I'm sure you have read other posts on here about shack sizing. I personally wouldn't go any smaller than 24x24 but you can only do what you can afford sometimes. At the very least, build what you can for now and plan the site for an easy expansion.

Super Sapper
04-21-2016, 05:53 AM