PDA

View Full Version : Newbie. Seriously, newbie!

Overmyhead
04-20-2016, 09:01 AM
This is my first year tapping, started with 20 taps and ended up boiling off and getting 5 gallons of syrup. I have the potential to tap 20 acres of good solid sugar maples. I guess I didn't realize I could get bitten by the maple bug, but I have. I had an a 33"x35" evaporator built and finish on a propane turkey fryer. My wife helps a lot too! Any suggestions on how to proceed with expansion without going bankrupt? I am kicking the idea around of getting licensed to sell but not sure how to even break into the market. Phew, that's enough for now! Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Rangdale
04-20-2016, 09:58 AM
Welcome fellow Mainer! Wow, 5 gallons on 20 taps is great, especially this year! Looks like your first step would be getting a bigger evaporator!

Cedar Eater
04-20-2016, 10:09 AM
Welcome to the hobby. I briefly considered trying to turn it into a business and I rejected the idea. I made 3 gallons of syrup my first year and 8 gallons my second year. There are ways to build the business slowly. For example, you could start out selling sap to local processors who need it. That way you won't need a state licensed sugar house. In Michigan, that's a big expense. Selling sap wouldn't stop you from making your own syrup. When you have an idea of how much sap your sugarbush can produce, you can think about expanding into the bulk sales or retail sales markets. In my area of Michigan, both of those are problematic. The local markets are pitifully inadequate for minimizing my risk of building a legal sugar house. Check your state laws and visit local producers to see what the local requirements are. Also check for assistance from your county agricultural agency. See what programs they have that might benefit you.

Overmyhead
04-20-2016, 02:57 PM