PDA

View Full Version : Off tasting or buddy syrup

KReinisch
04-11-2016, 06:18 AM
I see on here a lot lately that people say that there syrup has a off taste or buddy. I have been doing this for 5 years now and I'm not sure if I can tell. I know the difference between delicate and robust but can someone explain what that taste is just in case I make some syrup like it? Thank You!

Urban Sugarmaker
04-11-2016, 06:42 AM
I had my first experience with it this weekend. A friend asked if I could boil a small amount of sap in exchange for firewood. I agreed and he tested the sap on the stove first and said it was ok. Then when we boiled, a good amount of the sap must have been buddy. The syrup did not even taste like maple, and the steam smelled bad. It was sweet and golden, but tasted more like chocolate or tootsie roll with hints of grass/plant matter. Not pleasant at all. I believe this sap was almost fully "buddy" and not just starting to get that way. Trust me, you can't mistake it. If it's just a little buddy it might have an aftertaste or just taste a little off.

tcross
04-11-2016, 06:55 AM
I tend to make a little each year before I catch it and shut down. most likely due to the fact I have about 1/2 my bush as sugar maples and the other 1/2 as reds. this year my sap taste fine and was crystal clear. however after making about 2 gals of syrup, it started to taste "different". to me it taste nutty and earthy. also, the steam from boiling smells funky. sort of like a sweaty sock! trust me, you will know if you boil buddy sap!

K&GMapleProducts
04-11-2016, 07:44 AM
To me the flavor can be just slightly off (buddy), but it's the after taste that is really noticeable.

wurmdert
04-11-2016, 08:08 AM
To me the flavor can be just slightly off (buddy), but it's the after taste that is really noticeable.

I agree.. Hits you like a gob of cobwebbs right in the back of the throat lol lol

smokeyamber
04-11-2016, 11:05 AM