PDA

View Full Version : Bacterial / mold growth

PerryFamily
04-02-2016, 01:17 PM
Wondering if anyone else is having trouble with mold growth in Lapierre purple or clear tubing from last year? These drops are only 2 seasons old and have about 25/30 out of 500 that already need to be replaced. Lots of the mold is right where the spout ends inside the tubing. Wondering whit might have caused this. Vacuum is on all season and I pull taps under vacuum as well. Maybe I'm over thinking it140961409614097

Flat Lander Sugaring
04-02-2016, 07:14 PM
yes I want to say I noticed it this year when we first started tapping

madmapler
04-03-2016, 07:09 AM
I left my drop lines unplugged last year and there was absolutely none of that.

woodey24
04-03-2016, 07:16 AM
I have had it almost seal my tubing closed. I thought it was tubing. I used fountain plastic tubing this year. It's my first year and it was free.

Maplewalnut
04-03-2016, 08:05 AM
I had a problem with Lapierre green tubing and no longer buy it for that reason

PerryFamily
04-03-2016, 08:51 AM
Sean- I was thinking about doing that but pull under vacuum and didn't want to go back to un plug all of them.

It definitely seems like it's always in Lapierre purple or clear
Literally zero in the CDL tubing

I've flagged them all for replacement but it ticks me off because they are only 2 years old

Thanks for the responses

Michael Greer
04-03-2016, 10:12 AM
I don't have any tubing at all, but when temperature reach 65 to 70 degrees, I see bacterial growth on everything. Plastic tanks are the worst, but even my galvanized tank is looking pretty funky. Time to clean.

DrTimPerkins
04-04-2016, 09:27 AM