PDA

View Full Version : Pump starts slow?

danno
03-15-2007, 01:09 PM
You can tell I'm new to this vacuum thing as the last three threads are mine.

This morning when I switched on the Delaval 75 it started sluggish with low RPM's. Within about 5 minutes she was humming away good. Running it this past week she always seemed to start right up with no delay like this morning.

Air temps went from mid 50's last night to low 30's this morning and it has been real wet. I'm running Dairy Vacuum Oil from Tractor Supply.

Any idea why a pump would start sluggish before taking off? Could the oil have gelled or could this be indicative a problem? Looks like a good run beginning early next week and I'd like that pump to be kickin'.

maplehound
03-15-2007, 02:36 PM
This happens to me all the time! Try adding to some deisel fuel to the oil. When you have a down day try flushing the whole pump body with deisel fuel. It will help some. On those cold mornings the oil in the pump and on the bearings gets real thick and it may take some time to get it going especially if your motor is borderline on power.

802maple
03-15-2007, 04:34 PM
Also you are getting a small amount of sugar vapor and it will gum up the vanes, just run some kero or diesel thru it and it will clean it up

danno
03-15-2007, 04:54 PM
I like those answers. Serioulsy don't want to throw a bearing now. OK, stupid question - how do you get the kero into the pump? Through the vacuum inlet line? How much do you dump in - a cupful?

danno
03-15-2007, 04:56 PM
Just re-read Maplehounds response - diesel in the oil. Maplehound, when you flush the whole body, do you pour the diesel directly into the vacuum inlet?

maplehound
03-15-2007, 05:57 PM