PDA

View Full Version : anyone getting sap

chuckwagon
03-21-2016, 04:49 PM
Just wondering if anyone is getting sap,thought I might get more this weekend but not a drop,it's been in the twenties at night 35-40 during day,reds have bud out but sugars haven't yet,does no sap mean my season is over or could it still run.

woodey24
03-21-2016, 04:59 PM
I have had issues with my taps drying up. Last weekend I moved some taps to new trees and sap was coming out of them. Newbie here so not sure if that's what happens or not.

Tickle
03-21-2016, 06:07 PM
i went out today and most of my old taps were dry and some had a little sao in buckets ,i tapped some trees that i had not tapped this year and they were practically gushing sap out , now i hope the sap is still good , i will boil a small batch on the stove to make sure its still good before i go to the trouble of collecting and boiling it all , keeping my fingers crossed

chuckwagon
03-21-2016, 06:29 PM
Thanks and good luck,I don't think I'll tap new trees this late,I'll just leave the taps I have in,supposed to get near 50 tuesday if that doesn't do it I guess I'll call it quits for the year.

thackerymaple
03-21-2016, 07:39 PM
I just went out and collected 20 gallon off from 25 taps, 10 of the taps are not running, I believe they dried up, put the 20 in the evaporator to heat it up hopefully get another 20 to 30 tomorrow then Im done. Ended up with about 8 gallon about half of what we got last year. Ready to clean up and get the mowers serviced

crawflyer
03-21-2016, 07:41 PM