PDA

View Full Version : 3/16 hybrid (Gravity + Sap Puller) Advice

steviepap
03-18-2016, 08:06 AM
Hi, I have about 10 lines (200 taps) on 3/16 tubing using gravity. My trees at the bottom of the lines are not getting much vac as they have minimal slope before the tank. As a result, I am thinking of putting in a mainline and a pump to hopefully get production. I am new to all of this, so I am looking for advice on set up, installation, and products to use. Any photos/videos to give me ideas would also be very helpful. Thanks Steve.

Biz
03-18-2016, 08:21 AM
I just have just one 3/16" line on vacuum this year, 21 taps, and it works great! Line has 10-15' of drop. I added a Shurflo pump, and I'm getting 28" of vacuum at the end and really good sap flow. At a Bascoms seminar last year they mentioned that adding vacuum to 3/16 gravity lines is a good thing, it basically adds to the natural vacuum - and you get max vacuum through the whole line not just at the top.

Dave

steviepap
03-18-2016, 01:20 PM
Thanks Dave. Do you have any pics of your set up with the Shurflo pump?

Cedar Eater
03-18-2016, 02:56 PM
Hi, I have about 10 lines (200 taps) on 3/16 tubing using gravity. My trees at the bottom of the lines are not getting much vac as they have minimal slope before the tank. As a result, I am thinking of putting in a mainline and a pump to hopefully get production. I am new to all of this, so I am looking for advice on set up, installation, and products to use. Any photos/videos to give me ideas would also be very helpful. Thanks Steve.