PDA

View Full Version : Tubing from the tap to the bucket size?

woodey24
03-17-2016, 02:43 AM
Does the size of the tubing matter that goes from the tap into the bucket? We used tubing this year that I got from work that was going to be trashed. It is food grade but bigger than the actual blue tubing. The tube fits o.k around the tap but is not tight. Does the smaller tubing benefit you in any way?

Jolly Acres Farm
03-17-2016, 07:54 AM
I'm trying 3/16 this year on a few drops into buckets. It will give 0.88" of vacuum per foot of drop on gravity. On my 4' drops into buckets it should equate to 3.52" vacuum. Even though its not much vacuum it has out performed my bags so far this season at about 1/8 gallon difference per tap on average. I am not a expert by any means, but this is the results of my experiment so far this season.

seandicare
03-17-2016, 07:06 PM
I did a small test between the 5/16 and 3/16 lines....I have a post on the tubing/tapping section on it.........3/16 seems to get alittle less sap as the 5/16....might be just the difference in trees though.

as long as the tubing you have will stay on the taps, you should be good

Mikeh
04-01-2016, 09:54 PM
I found the 3/16" would freeze up easier than 5/16" right where the tubing ended inside the bucket. The last drop of the evening would hang in the end of the tubing and freeze. Then the next day the new sap would have a traffic jam. If that didn't melt (for instance on a 33 degree day) then the whole line would be frozen for the next day. When I used bigger tubing the sap couldn't hang up at the end of the tube.

Just my experience, now I hang my 5 gal buckets on the trees and skip the tubing.

saphound
04-02-2016, 06:36 AM