PDA

View Full Version : Help please! Temp won't rise high enough to draw off.

Mikemartin274
03-12-2016, 04:54 PM
I'm new to a 2x4 continuous flow pan. It holds about 15 gallons at 2". I've been boiling on this rig for well over 10 hours now and have evaporated aproxx 150 gallons. I can't get the temp to go above 211. I was thinking I'd be drawing off at 216 or so degrees but I've yet to see that. The fire is great and boil is rapid. I'm afraid I've ruined the SAP somehow the syrup hydrometer sinks to bottom and the SAP hydrometer is maxed out over 12%. Please any advice is appreciated. Last year I batch boiled. I'm tempted to drain what in the pan and boil it all down. I thought I could get real close to syrup with this rig. Anyone else have this problem? Solution? I searched the forums but couldn't find what I need. I don't seem to get great results with search bar.

highlandcattle
03-12-2016, 05:45 PM
What brand of evaporator! I have a Mason with a blower. Try a fan on it if no blower

MunsterMapler
03-12-2016, 06:39 PM
Keep boiling! My 2x4 hybrid took about 180-200 gallons to sweeten the pan. It may even take more depending on what % sugar your sap is.

jbutton
03-12-2016, 07:57 PM
How deep are you running it? 2 inches is to deep. I had a continuous flow my first 2 years a found that I had to run it around 1 inch. Also check your hydrometer for cracks

Jolly Acres Farm
03-12-2016, 08:55 PM
I have a Mason 2x4 XL with blower. I have drawn off finished syrup with and without the blower. I run my sap at 3/4 to 1 inch deep. It took about 100 gallons to sweeten my pan, so if your running 2 inches on the same set up it would take twice as much sap as me, about 200 gallons. My sap was around 1.5 %. I hope this helps.

bigschuss
03-12-2016, 09:00 PM
Just keep going. You're almost there. 2" is deep...there's a lot of sap in your pan at 2 inches. On my Mason 2x4 it takes about 100 gallons just to sweeten the pan...but I run it real low (about an inch).

Tater