PDA

View Full Version : pushing last of sap through evaporator question

NHguy
03-10-2016, 07:07 PM
This is my first year boiling on a 2x4 arch, with a flat 3 section divided rear pan, and a flat 3 section divided front finishing pan.

I boiled off 60 gallons of sap to get to syrup, and have a good gradient established in my front pan. Am anticipating drawing off syrup frequently now in small batches as I add sap from here on out.

I have about 35 gallons of sap that I am planning on boiling ( and hoping we get a freeze tomorrow night so that the season isnt over!)

My question is: once I am all out of sap, what is the best way to push the last of it, and all my sweet through my pans?

Do I add water starting from my preheater pan? ? will that move the sap through the channels to a certain point so that I can maintain my gradient and keep drawing off syrup?

Or do I just draw off all the stuff in all 3 channels of my front pan and finish it on the stove?

Thanks so much in advance, I have learned so much here from all of you!

Jim

psparr
03-10-2016, 07:45 PM
You can use water and it will push the syrup. Do you have a valve between the pans? If so, for your last boil you can drain the pans, put all that in the front pan, and flood the rear pan with water.

NHguy
03-11-2016, 07:04 AM
You can use water and it will push the syrup. Do you have a valve between the pans? If so, for your last boil you can drain the pans, put all that in the front pan, and flood the rear pan with water.

thanks- there is a valve on a connection between the front and rear pans. I close it when done boiling to keep the gradient in front pan from back-flowing into the sap pan.

Are you saying that when I'm out of sap i should: take all of the weakly concentrated sap in the rear pan and add it to the darker , more concentrated front pan with the near syrup - then fill the rear pan with all water, open the valve between pans and boil away?

lpakiz
03-11-2016, 07:15 AM