PDA

View Full Version : One more boil

SugaringRook
03-09-2016, 09:56 AM
Hello all, I'm a second year rook. I did an intro in the newbie thread. This is a total addiction. Wow!
Noticed a really small amount of cloudiness in the sap, but I could still see the bottom of my 5 gallon storage buckets. Is that bad or tolerable for home use?
I put my storage buckets inside my pond to keep them cold. My neighbors think I'm nuts. Lol. Anyhow you guys and gals are great! What a great adventure!

Sunny
03-09-2016, 10:20 AM
I have been wracking my brain to think how I can keep my sap cool...my pond! Thanks so much for the idea!
I am a rookie, too, and totally obsessed!
Thanks for the inspiration.

Sunny
24 taps on 12 fabulous trees

lafite
03-09-2016, 10:29 AM
I used a local liquor store's beer cooler to store my buckets of "sweet" between boils. no snow cover in southern CT this year...

saphound
03-09-2016, 11:32 AM
Hello all, I'm a second year rook. I did an intro in the newbie thread. This is a total addiction. Wow!
Noticed a really small amount of cloudiness in the sap, but I could still see the bottom of my 5 gallon storage buckets. Is that bad or tolerable for home use?
I put my storage buckets inside my pond to keep them cold. My neighbors think I'm nuts. Lol. Anyhow you guys and gals are great! What a great adventure!

That faint cloudiness should be fine. Boil away..and smell the steam as it gets to nearup..it should have that sweet sweet smell. ;)

SugaringRook
03-09-2016, 12:26 PM
Okay thanks. I'm boiling on Friday. Can't get enough of it. I know I'll be going at it harder in the next couple of years. Sunny I was also wondering what I was going to do with my sap. Then I fell right in it! Lol

Eds Constructors
03-09-2016, 07:37 PM