PDA

View Full Version : Tapping trees near/on leech field?

ADK_XJ
03-07-2016, 10:05 PM
A naive question maybe but would there be potential for contamination or ill effects of tapping a couple trees near a leech field? That's actually not the exact scenario I'm in but it's what I'd consider the worst case...

To elaborate, I did some heavy bush-whacking on the Southernmost end of our property this weekend and discovered a pretty decent stand of mostly red but a couple very nice sugar maples along the edge (some even IN) an old pond that abutts our property. I have no clear knowledge of the source of the pond but it is below the grade of a nearby country road and below several houses. I have to imagine some runoff into it or, worst case, at one,time it served as an ad hoc leech field. Hence the title.

So, should I even bother tapping these trees? Trees appear healthy and happy. Could any potential (I simply don't know) chemicals or contaminates filter up into the sap?

11-Nick
03-07-2016, 10:41 PM
How close is the closest house to the pond?
I have a sideline business designing onlot residential septic systems. In this state, there are laws regarding how close a residential septic system can be do property lines, surface water, wells, etc. I can only imagine your state would be the same. Are these houses on a public sewer? If so, I wouldn't be concerned. If their septic systems are 50' or more from the pond, I wouldn't worry. I'm not sure I'd worry unless a system was blatantly dumping into the pond, or was malfunctioning and running into the pond.
If waste water were in the pond, I actually think I'd be more worried about the other stuff in that water more than I'd worry about the concentrations of black water absorbed by the trees. Un-metabolized medications, hormones, vitamins, etc that are excreted by our bodies is pretty amazing. That stuff does far more damage to waterways and aquatic life than black water does.