PDA

View Full Version : What do you do with your syrup?

SapSuckers
03-09-2007, 07:22 PM
I am a small back yard producer. My first year we made about 1 quart, second year 3 gallons. Each year we get a little bigger, spend more money, tap more trees. My familys land where our taps are hold probably 30,000 taps left empty. This year we will have at least 100 taps and a real syrup pan and arch. I predict at least 10-15 gallons of syrup this year.

Now my question--------

10- 15 gallons is nice. 1 to 2 gallons in plenty for my family for the year. So that leaves 8-13 gallons to give as gifts to friends. Thats all nice, but the more I boil, the more syrup I have, the MORE MONEY I SPEND. I dont feel I could sell what I have, and i am concerned about liablity of selling a food product. ( not that i am concerned to consume any of my syrup, i give it to my 14 month old son).

So what do the "inbetween" producers do. The guys with plenty more then they need for themselves, but not quite enough to stock the shelves at the local farmers market? Do you do anything to support your cost's?

MaplePancakeMan
03-09-2007, 07:31 PM
2 years ago i did kinda like you are now. I sold it at a healthfood store people ate it up! they love the LOCAL pesticide free stuff. Can't call it organic even though it is. They literally were praising me and wanted as much as i could give them. A friend of mine in a similar situation just puts a sign on the road that says maple syrup sold here and sells it in quarts for 12 bucks a pop. You could just save it and learn to cook with it you can do tons of things from granola bars to steak marinades. i have a bunch of recipies if you want or you can look on here for them. You don't need a license to sell it if you are call it an agriculture product. Just right a disclaimer on the sign if you feel the need but shouldn't have to worry if you are just boiling sap to syrup with no additives.

Sugarmaker
03-09-2007, 07:33 PM
Sap Suckers,