PDA

View Full Version : newbie syrup batch and processing questions w/pics

870ExpressMag
03-01-2016, 03:13 PM
first off I am a newbie, I tap 10 trees in my yard on 2 acres in the country. Tapped em first first time in 2008, then again in 2010, and now 2016. In 2008 and 2010 i made about a gallon each year of some fine tasting syrup, sure it had sugar sand in the bottom and all that, but I was quite pleased at the product while being a rookie. Now this year I think the bug finally bit me hard and I am really getting in to figuring out the finer details and trying to make a better product. I have finished two batches so far this year. Tapped on Feb 17th, boiled 24.5 gallons down on the 20th and 21st, and then boiled 44 gallons down on the 27th and 28th. My process was nearly identical on both batches, however different things happened throughout each batch, and I was hoping some of you could help me figure out why some things happened the way they did.

Batch 1: 24.5 gallons of sap, unsure of sugar content, but guessing avg 2.0%
Filter sap through cheesecloth
Boil in kettles on propane turkey fryers
on saturday night i shut fryers down and allow to cool
filter through cheesecloth again and discard whatever settled to bottom of kettles during cooling
refrigerate until sunday morning and then boil again in kettles
Reduced down to about a gallon
filtered through cone filter (not sure the type of filter, was purchased at syrup shop) in to pot
it filtered out a lot of junk, probably a 1/2cup or so of stuff
i then put on the stove to finish it off
walked away to rinse my filter and boiled half the batch over the stove (MESS!)
after the unfortunate accident i was able to finish what was left, brought to density, checked with my hydrotherm
then canned it right out of the pot, no more filtering