PDA

View Full Version : need help bricking 2x4 Randy Worthen arch...

NHguy
02-26-2016, 09:43 AM
Hello all - have learned a ton from searching and reading here. Made a little less than a gallon last year on cinder block arch and hotel pans. This year we got the bug. I purchased a used Randy Worthen 2x4 arch and 3 pan set a few weeks ago, and got it level and ready to brick yesterday. The gent I bought it from gave me all the bricks also - but to be honest I am having a heck of a time figuring the right way to put them in?

I am not very good at tetris. do any of you guys have the same set up? and would you be willing to put up a few photos of how you bricked the inside?

I have put in/taken out most of the bricks 4 times now- and don;t think I'm any closer to getting it right!

Appreciate in advance any help- I should probably boil what I have in storage this weekend!

thank you again

The New guy

steve J
02-26-2016, 10:00 AM
I assume that some of these bricks have been cut to size. So is there anyway you could asked the seller how he bricked it or if he had any photos. I don't have that brand and mine is not here to look at but I think what I did was lay the two end wall bottom rows first and than the bottom row of the side walls. At that point I laid in the floor good and tight and that sort of anchored the walls. And you build up row by row from there.

Ryan August
02-26-2016, 11:57 AM
Cant help you with the tetris aspect of it but will say i had similar struggles. found it just easier to pick up a few spare bricks and come up with my own patern and cut. I found a nice mason blade on my miter saw cut real nice, fast, easy and for me atleast, less fustrating then figuring out how to make it all fit. Then fill any little gaps with furnace cement. good luck but my vote is masonary blade, ur evap is small enought that u will only need one blade.

NHguy
02-26-2016, 06:22 PM