PDA

View Full Version : Delaval 78 max rpm?

Woodsymiles
02-25-2016, 02:25 PM
Heard from a parts place for these pump that max rpm is 1150, but tag on pump plate lists a 10hp motor will give 1270 rpm...anyone know what the safe rpm is? Trying to size the proper pulley on motor to get a good safe rpm.

pls009
02-25-2016, 03:25 PM
Please let me make the disclaimer that I am new to this and most likely don't know what I'm doing but feel like I should respond because I have this same pump body and just getting my feet wet. My tag says the same thing as yours. Hopefully, Breezy will chime in on this because he has the knowledge. My current set up has a 5hp motor and the tag says 800 rpm. From my limited testing, I have dialed my pump rpm down (3phase motor with VFD) to what I think is between 400-500 rpm's and am flooding it with quite a bit of oil and am achieving a vac of 27" and my pump is staying cool - maybe too cool though. I only mention my situation because I have wondered if I would really gain anything by running my pump at any higher rpms. I don't seem to gain any vac by running it at higher rpms. I'm guessing a lot of rpm versus vac levels has to do with how much oil you are giving the pump. My assumption is that what the parts place told you is a good starting point to see how it runs for you.

pls009
02-25-2016, 03:29 PM
This website lists info for your pump too http://hambydairysupply.com/xcart/product.php?productid=17805 - they list a 6.5 inch pulley on the 10hp motor for max rpm of 1250

Woodsymiles
02-25-2016, 04:17 PM
With getting 27" with the pump what's your specs? I'll be using a 5hp with the 1750 rpm from motor. A 6" pulley on the motor will give something around 1167 pump rpms.

pls009
02-25-2016, 06:29 PM