PDA

View Full Version : Welding stainless

Everhard
02-24-2016, 02:06 PM
Hello all, I'm hoping to upgrade my 4 pan 2x4 setup by making my own pans. My burning question is: Do I need to be concerned about any food grade issues with doing my own welding using a stick welder using 308L rod? (Let's just assume for arguments sake I can stick weld well enough to make a finished product that won't have holes.) Is there anything I need to do once I've got it welded up?

Thanks,
E.

MaxJ
02-24-2016, 02:29 PM
Using the 308L should be fine providing you can weld it up. Tig welding would be a better option if possible.

Big_Eddy
02-24-2016, 05:43 PM
It's a big assumption that you (or anyone) would be able to weld thin stainless suitable for maple with a stick welder. However assuming you can - then you will need to back gas to prevent sugaring. ( not maple sugaring :) )

esetter
02-24-2016, 05:46 PM
For what its worth. I have been welding / fabricating for 18 years . I have worked fab shops doing food grade products and I have worked on mining equipment in the west. Tig is pretty much the standard welding used in food industry operations. Thats not to say that mig and stick isn't. They are mostly used n the structural welding and tig is usually used where the product touches the metal. Now , stick is a little more difficult on the thinner gauges but can be done. Welds to be deemed ''sanitary'' must be complete and smooth ( no ridges or crevices for bacteria to hide). Weld both sides and buff , don't grind but buff / polish it smooth. One thing to consider too is that the boiling will help sanitize. and yes 308 , 316L rods will work. I suggest 3/32 so you can weld at lower amperage.

esetter
02-24-2016, 05:56 PM