PDA

View Full Version : Red Maple

flyzone13
02-24-2016, 02:03 PM
Are red maple trees still a good tree to tap? I mean a maple is a maple right? Or will some maples out produce others, or do some make a better tasting syrup?

daniel_wentworth
02-24-2016, 02:15 PM
You can tap reds but sap tends to be not as sweet. Also reds will bud before sugars. If you have sugar maples to tap I'd start there.

DrTimPerkins
02-24-2016, 02:22 PM
I mean a maple is a maple right?

Well that's kind of like saying that a rock is a rock. You're right in some ways, but very wrong in others. A geologist would disagree entirely. Being a plant biologist, my first inclination is to say that you are incorrect, but I suppose it matters in which way you're asking.

Different maple species tend to produce more or less sap than others, that is more or less sweet than others, and that may have some different flavor characteristics.

To get to your initial question though.....red maple trees are fine to tap. In comparison to a sugar maple they may not run as well without vacuum, may have slightly lower sugar content, might turn buddy a little earlier, and might have a slightly different flavor. If all you have is red maple....tap it. If you can only handle sap from 10 trees, and you have 10 sugar maples and 10 red maples...choose the sugar maples all other things being equal.

flyzone13
02-24-2016, 02:34 PM
the reason I ask is because I am adding more taps this year and I found an area that has many red maples. I did a test tap and found the sap running well. Took the sample home and boiled what I had seemed alright to me, but I have notice not many people tap them. My hope is that I am not wasting my time with these trees and that they are in a way productive. Thanks all for your input.

southfork
02-24-2016, 02:41 PM
Dr. Perkins is of course correct.