PDA

View Full Version : Divided tray

Eds Constructors
02-17-2016, 09:38 PM
New to the hobbie(3rd year)and forum and been seeing a lot about divided/fluted pans. I was wondering what benefit it would be to put dividers in a flat pan? Fluted / dropped I can see the obvious (more surface area) However I am not seeing the divider thing? I have a 35 gal drum with a 16x28x8 stainless and boiled down appr.15 gal and seemed to take waaaaaay to long to boil. It is my first year with new drum setup, so there is still a small learning curve on how to get the best boil. Any help GREATLY APPRECIATED, I certainly don't want to miss out on this year's sweet stuff!

2-1/2 acre virgin sugarbush
Lots of Sugar and Reds
5 LARGE roadside

2014 - 1 tap
1/2 quart
HOOKED!

2015 - 7 taps
50-55 gal sap
5 quarts (1- grade a light, 4 dark amber)
Turkey fryer

2016 -10 taps currently, more if I can get the boil quicker
120 gal. storage
1 quart, 1 pint early , light and sweet, hoping for 3- 4 gal
God given 2 legs for collecting
Might figure out something for snowmobile if I get enough time

8x14, three walled, log sugar shack

Clinkis
02-17-2016, 11:36 PM
The purpose of the divides is so that raw sap can be added at one point and syrup drawn off at the other. The first divider has an opening at one end and the next divider has an opening at the other thus you create a path where the sap flows through the pan. At the opposite end of the path from where the raw sap is added the temperature is monitored and when it reaches the appropriate point (usually 219'F) a valve is opened and syrup is drawn off until temperature drops. The process just keeps going on and is called continuous flow. The dividers, unfortunately will not create a faster boil though.

Big_Eddy
02-18-2016, 08:29 AM
Ed
As Clinkis states - the dividers will not increase the rate of evaporation.
What the dividers do is allow you to change from a batch boiling process to a continuous flow process.