PDA

View Full Version : Storing sap

justainmurphy
02-17-2016, 05:05 PM
Newbie here, collecting sap for the first time. I've read that you should only store sap in your refrigerator for about a week. Can anybody confirm or deny? I started collecting late last week and have about 2 gallons. Was hoping to boil all my sap down at the same time, so ideally I'd like to store my sap for three weeks or so I guess? Can it keep in the refrigerator that long? Should I freeze it? Should I boil it down soon to make a batch of syrup and then make another batch later in early spring? Thoughts or suggestions?

Big_Eddy
02-17-2016, 05:18 PM
Like milk. A few days at fridge temps. Beyond that, freeze it.

justainmurphy
02-17-2016, 05:22 PM
Okay, and I'll be able to freeze it and use it all at the same time once the sap stops flowing?

wnybassman
02-17-2016, 05:25 PM
I'd boil as you go and then refrigerate the "near syrup" because that will be sterilized and will keep better, then finish it all at once. I think you'll be surprised how slowly it boils if you have not done that yet.

justainmurphy
02-17-2016, 05:35 PM
So boil what I collect every couple days? If I do it that way, boiling it down...how far do I need to boil it to where it will keep in the refrigerator until I get to where I'm ready to make syrup? I.e. If I have a gallon, I should boil that down to ____ oz and that will keep ______ days/weeks/months. Thanks for your help/advice

TerryEspo
02-17-2016, 11:38 PM
Hard to answer your question. But....

If I had a gallon or two per day and wanted to boil it all at once for syrup, I would do this.

First, keep in mind 40:1 roughly is what your dealing with, and its temperament is milk.

Tedious, but boil your 1-2 gallons every few days till it is much less that what you started with,,,,,,40-1 keep in mind.

Freeze what is left over after every boil.