PDA

View Full Version : Shurflo

derekp
02-12-2016, 10:04 PM
Shurflo users, thanks for all of the information that is available in the archives!! One question that I saw go unanswered was, Can the pump be mounted vertically or does it have to be laying flat? I'd like to mount my 2088 vertically on a board attached to a post. Has anyone done this?

NJG
02-13-2016, 01:06 AM
I have limited experience with the Shurflo. FWIW, I think that having the intake side slightly higher than the discharge port is perhaps more important than the pump motor being horizontal or vertical.

bowhunter
02-13-2016, 07:41 AM
These pumps can generally be mounted in any position.

Sugarbush Ridge
02-13-2016, 10:10 AM
What kind if vacuum can be gotten with Shurflo 2088? What kind of CFM can they draw?

NJG
02-13-2016, 01:33 PM
With small leaks and no sap I was getting 10'' to 15''. Once the leaks were fixed and sap started flowing, I was getting 20'' to 25'' consistently. All on about 50 taps, all on 5/16 tubing.

bowhunter
02-13-2016, 02:25 PM
That's pretty amazing. Is your bush pretty flat or do you have a lot of slope down to the pump.

derekp
02-13-2016, 09:09 PM
I haven't been able to try out my 2088 yet...still getting everything set up. One of my bushes has 100 trees with over 100' of drop from the last tap to my tank. It would be an awesome setup for 3/16 but I got a shurflo for free so I'll try that this year...I'm hoping with this steep slope I'll get good vaccum with this little pump

derekp
02-18-2016, 08:23 PM
Another question, I have seen posts saying that people run their shurflo's over night, even when lines freeze. I plan on taking my pump out on cold nights but when hooking it back up in the morning, do I have to wait for the sap to start running before turning on the pump? Or can I start it up when lines are still frozen?

Super Sapper
02-19-2016, 05:07 AM
If you have a screen before the pump to stop any ice from getting into it you can start it up while frozen.