PDA

View Full Version : 3/16 or 5/16 without mainline

Nemo5
02-11-2016, 06:45 AM
Hello. I've been putting out 100 buckets every year for the last 7 years but this year I would like to also try some tubing. My plan is to run 500' of tubing and have a shurflo pump on the end for vaccum. I will have about 17 taps on this line. There is probably 15' of drop from first tap to last. I will not have 30' of drop after last tap. Would it be best to go with 3/16 or 5/16 or does it matter?

psparr
02-11-2016, 07:41 AM
3/16. Any drop is good drop.

billyinvt
02-11-2016, 07:58 AM
I was under the impression that with mechanical vacuum or "flat" terrain after last tap you're best sticking with 5/16 for the increased volume. Is it less cut and dry than I think it is?

maplestudent
02-11-2016, 09:13 AM
it seems that with the slope you describe, you'll get some natural vacuum with 3/16" but not the full potential. However you mention using a shurflo, and therefore the "less than 30' of drop after last tap" becomes kind of irrelevant; you'll have mechanical vacuum so you won't need the natural vacuum. I'm not sure if anyone is using a shurflo with 3/16", but a lot of people have commented on using it with 5/16 and mainlines, or all 5/16.

I don't really have a straight answer for you, but I will share my experience. First I'll admit my setup is not the most efficient. I use all 5/16", no mainlines. This is due to mainly 3 things: I got several rolls fairly cheap, I didn't have the funds and/or time to set up mainlines, and I wasn't going to have the time to collect 90 buckets every day.