PDA

View Full Version : Using Spruce as wood source ( with pics)

sugarmapleusa
02-09-2016, 01:18 AM
This year I have decided to use spruce as my wood source, I've had a lot of it laying around my property ( since i work in the tree business and people don't use spruce around here as a wood source) I was wondering if anyone has tried or used spruce before and how it went :D if you could let me know what you think and the pros and cons before i get evaporating that would be great!

The first picture is my stack of wood that has already been brought to my sugar shack, i have a barn style setup in the spot where i keep my wood so that it stays dry. The second is the rest of the wood that has not been brought in yet. TOOK US ALL DAY to get that pile!:lol:

Let me know what you think,

Is spruce good or bad idea?

wiam
02-09-2016, 05:10 AM
I have burned lots of dead spruce in my outdoor boiler. Burns hot if dry. Does not last long though. Should work.

Russell Lampron
02-09-2016, 05:27 AM
I use anything that burns for wood. Softwoods if dry produce a lot of heat fast. It won't last as long as hardwood so you will have to fire more often. I have used a lot of pine (rocket fuel) in the past with good results.

sugarmapleusa
02-09-2016, 11:23 AM
Thanks for answering guys. I did a test burn with a piece of spruce in my wood stove in the house. It got unbearably hot in the house, Im hoping it does good.
Looks like you have a lot of pine out there Russ! :)

Urban Sugarmaker
02-09-2016, 11:43 AM
I found spruce produced A LOT of sparks that would fly a little too far for comfort. I use mostly pine and some hardwood now. Way less sparks, but I'm sure the spruce will work fine if sparks are not a concern for you.

kcompo
02-09-2016, 12:01 PM
Sparks and more sparks good way for chimney fire.
Burns very hot and fast.

bigschuss
02-09-2016, 02:50 PM