PDA

View Full Version : Can't make sense of this weather!

Too Tall
02-05-2016, 05:33 PM
I'm fairly new to tapping trees. This year I expanded up to 50 taps on gravity. I have all my lines run. Drops are spliced in. Spiles ready to be tapped in. With the weather over the past few weeks, I feel like I already missed half the season!

Looking at the forecast around here (North of G.R.) I decided I'm going to tap on Feb 13th no matter what. Hopefully it's just my inexperience that has me feeling like I've already missed out!

Snappyssweets
02-05-2016, 05:44 PM
Your fine. I am over here near Midland. I finally broke them out and put them in last weekend.
I pulled only about 20 gallons Monday, Tuesday and wed. Nothing Thursday or today. I boiled and got about 2 quarts finished. I expect to be honest that we will see a good run first of March. With a few days here and there between now and then. I just couldn't stand it anymore so I put mine out. All gravity on mine. :D

Too Tall
02-05-2016, 05:53 PM
Yeah...I'm hoping that because my trees are all in the woods that they are still "waking up". Hopefully the week of February 22nd the faucet turns on and doesn't shut off until the end of March!

Forrest hunters
02-05-2016, 06:42 PM
Just north of GR here too. Forecast in my .02 doesn't look like a warm up after the next few days until the 15th. This weekend looks okay, but I haven't been able to trust the 2 week forecast forever. It keeps looking better to delay the season some. I hope we get a stretch to really freeze the trees and ground. I think then when we get a warm up the trees will let loose.

bowhunter
02-06-2016, 07:17 AM
You haven't missed anything. We all get the bug and start tapping earlier than we should.

vinkandy
02-06-2016, 09:56 AM
This winter has been difficult to predict. I'm in the Grand Haven area and going to wait until the week of February 14th to watch the weather real close. Tentatively thinking about running my taps sometime that week.

Sugarmaker