PDA

View Full Version : brand new to maple syrup

chuckwagon
02-03-2016, 05:05 PM
Hi everyone, hope you don't mind my stupid question but I've been trying to find some info on your site on the old threads but couldn't find any anyway I'm brand new to the maple world and getting ready to tap a couple trees my question is can I just boil the sap on an wood fire I'm planning on using my barrel smoker as a fire pit and put a pot on the grate over the fire do you think this will work or am I wasting my time I really have no other way to boil it down right now.i will appreciate any help thanks

KV Sappers
02-03-2016, 05:19 PM
I say go for it. A lot of guys starting out use open pits with pots on grates when they start out. Have fun but be forwarned this is a very addictive hobby

chuckwagon
02-03-2016, 05:28 PM
Thanks one more question it's supposed to go down to around 20 here Thursday night mid 30 during the day will the sap freeze in the buckets if I tap Thursday after work or should I wait until later in the month not sure what ice will do to sap sorry to ask I know it's probably been asked a hundred times here

Run Forest Run!
02-03-2016, 06:13 PM
Welcome chuckwagon. I looked at the forecast for your area and while it appears that you've got a few days ahead of you with good sapping temperatures, if I were you I'd hold off for another week to tap. The temperatures around Valentine's Day look a lot better to me for someone collecting with buckets. As for sap freezing in your buckets, that's no problem. You'll find it helpful to get in the habit of emptying your buckets before the evening comes so that you have an empty bucket overnight. Sometimes the sap will run all through the night and you'll need the space. During a real run your bucket can fill twice a day.