PDA

View Full Version : Short season?

Windy Acres
02-01-2016, 05:16 PM
I'm looking for some advice from all of the experienced guys out there, do you think this is going to be a short season? I was going to wait to hang our buckets in another week or two, we tapped all our lines, I am just wondering if we should be hanging buckets now, or wait?

PACMAN
02-01-2016, 05:31 PM
I am not tapping till March 1st. Still cold in the forcast up here.

Bentley Wood Maple
02-01-2016, 06:06 PM
If you earn your pay tramping through knee/waist deep snow we generally have a decent season.Few yrs ago we had ankle deep snow while tapping. Wasn't worth my time and we didn't make enough syrup to pay for my taps and jugs we didn't fill. Skeptical as to our success this season. But keep telling myself a bad day in sugarhouse beats any day in the paper mill...

lakeview maple
02-01-2016, 06:35 PM
12 Rubicon , Im no expert , Ive got a couple of years under my belt and enough of a memory left to remember the last El Nino year. I waited then and got 3 weeks of sap and 23 Gallons of syrup, not a great year. I kinda figure that they can predict the weather 5 to 7 days out , the rest is a computer program that tells you what happened on that day for the last 30 years. If I could see what happened on the last 10 el nino years I would be really happy to see that info. I tapped my barn lot today, 135 taps on a Guzzler and it ran like the flood. Im going to see what happens tomorrow and if its as good Im headed to the mtn Wednesday and punch in the other 500. I kinda figure whats the worse that can happen ? It doesn't run? Oh well Ill still be tapped and in 2 weeks when I normally tap Ill make a pot of coffee instead. Hope this helps ,Al

blissville maples
02-01-2016, 07:22 PM