PDA

View Full Version : Bare with me on this...

medic5794
01-30-2016, 07:45 AM
I'm trying to think of a way to make my operation more efficient as I've had some changes this year. This make get a little long so please just bare with me.

My situation:
I'm a paramedic who works 24 hour shifts. I work 3 shifts with a day off between shifts then I get 4 days off in a row. The woods that I tap are about 1 hour and 45 minutes from where I live. The woods belong to my Wife's parents. Up until this past spring they lived on the land and so when I tapped we just stayed with them. Since then they have moved and live closer to us. Most of the land is still in their name so I can still tap it. I can not leave tubing up all year round (as of right now) however I can take it down and put it up every spring. This year I plan on tapping with a little over 200 taps (up from a little over 100 last year). I have several gravity sap line paths marked out so that I will have a total of 20 collections spots. There isn't much slope to the land so as of right now that's the best I can do.

My plan:
I plan on going over about every other or every 3rd day to collect the sap and haul it back in 1 or 2 275 gallon IBC tanks on a trailer. I'm building a home made RO this year following this design https://sites.google.com/site/mattatuckmadnessmaplesyrup/home/homemade-reverse-osmosis-system I know it'll be a bit small but it's a started unit for me so it will probably be upgraded when I can afford it. I plan on cooking it down on 6 steam table trays on top of a cinder block arch, again until I can afford a better evaporator and arch.

My concerns:
I fear that I will get too far behind on cooking down the sap that I will have to toss some out or have to haul it again to buyer. I'm concerned that the hauling of the sap from the woods will be too in efficient that it will not be worth the hassle. I'm concerned about that because of that little maple syrup bug that bites every one!