PDA

View Full Version : Electronic Moisture Detection

Rossell's Sugar Camp
01-24-2016, 09:16 PM
Hello everybody,
For those of you that do not know me. I am a college student studying Electrical Engineering. I have already designed and built prototypes for a device that would protect vacuum pumps in the event of a releaser failure by shutting the vacuum pump off and closing a motorized ball valve before the pump. I just wanted to see what kind of interest was out there and if anybody Knows of devices like this already on the market.

This is designed to work on a car battery for several runs through the seasonn or 120VAC, Therefore a perfect solution for engine driven remote vacuum systems.

DrTimPerkins
01-25-2016, 09:17 AM
I have already designed and built prototypes for a device that would protect vacuum pumps in the event of a releaser failure by shutting the vacuum pump off and closing a motorized ball valve before the pump. I just wanted to see what kind of interest was out there and if anybody Knows of devices like this already on the market.

I would start by looking at the variety of moisture traps offered by the different maple equipment manufacturers. While most of them are mechanical, there are a couple of electric moisture traps out there. The Lapierre humidity trap is one that we have used. The units I have seen don't incorporate a ball-valve. These simply send a signal to the VFD to cut power to the pump as soon as liquid is detected, and are simple and reliable. Seems like a ball valve would require power, and would be slow....which would be OK if your moisture trap was big enough to handle the incoming liquid until the valve fully closed. A solenoid might work, but would have to be quite big and would lead to other types of issues.