PDA

View Full Version : Tapped

myazel
02-28-2007, 12:47 PM
Tapped today 2/28/07 in north central Indiana they were running good.

Mike

myazel
03-07-2007, 07:15 AM
Had a good run last week before it locked back up. Still waiting for the next thaw which is giving me time to finish my new steam hood/preheater. Going to run a little more tube today as this is my first year trying it. Only 22 here this morning so I have some time, looks like Friday will be the next big day.

DougM
03-09-2007, 03:46 PM
Myazel,
Where in Indiana are you located?

We had to take a year off and I've been curious how others in Indiana are doing this year due to winter not really getting started until the end of January.

Doug

myazel
03-13-2007, 07:01 AM
While we are by no means a large producer (225 taps) we look to have a short season. Last year was not real good for us either. We can't seem to catch it right. I had a friend last year that tapped in January and caught some good runs, we tapped in Febuary and al;most missed it. This year we thought at Christmas time there wold be no season but then it turned cold. The runs have been strong but this warm weather has them shutdown for now. Looks like they may get going again towards the end of the week. I look to come up short again this year and am going to try and tap earlier if the weather shows any signs of thaws next year.
We are located near Mentone which is between Warsaw and Rochester. Started doing this about 6 years ago and enjoy it as it gives us more time out in the woods. I have a 2x6 Dellaire with a preheater and steamhood. Have the potential for 400-500 taps but seems the increases come slow with everything else always getting in the way of sugaring! All of my trees are pretty close to the house but across a creek so getting the water is somewhat of a challenge but not as bad as some have it.

Mike

the old guy
03-14-2007, 08:28 PM