PDA

View Full Version : Your definition of "Marginal Days"

Starting Small
01-07-2016, 10:37 AM
This is my first year going to high vacuum, I always hear people say that high vacuum will allow you to gather sap on "marginal days." I am curious as to what you consider a marginal day. I ask because I want to know what the bottom temperature range is for turning on the pump. Is it 30 with full sun? 32? 35? Thanks for the advice.
-Dave

GeneralStark
01-07-2016, 11:36 AM
This is why I generally keep it simple and leave the pump on 24/7 unless it is going to freeze hard for several days. I have found that there are all sorts of "marginal" situations where I likely would not have gotten sap if the pump were not on. Cold but sunny days are certainly one common situation, but other weather factors seem to be at play as well. Obviously, stretches without a freeze will be the time to run the pump constantly.

Using temp. as a rule for turning on the pump can be inaccurate as your temp. sensor may be in a cool location, or your woods or trees may be warmer than the location of your pump and sensor.

unc23win
01-07-2016, 12:03 PM
I would agree with GeneralStark although I do not run my pump 24/7 temperature reading and forecasts can be wrong and sometimes it's more about what the barometer reads than the thermometer. It is surprising every season as to the days it runs when you didn't think it would and the opposite days where you expect a good run and nothing happens.

ennismaple
01-07-2016, 02:30 PM
Marginal days are generally the ones where it doesn't get very much above zero or when you have multiple days in a row without a freeze. Guys on buckets will complain they have nothing to boil but we'll get a half gallon of sap per tap.

If you can keep your releasers from freezing up keep the pump running at all times - unless the only sap that's running is off the end of your nose!

Starting Small
01-07-2016, 02:54 PM