PDA

View Full Version : Scaling up

mudr
10-14-2015, 06:41 AM
Hi guys and gals. I am currently a small hobby producer, 1 year with 40 taps, but I have the desire and spousal support to get larger. Ideally, I'd grow to about 150-200 taps (over time). The question is- where do I spend money first. I've got trees, a half mile back down a lane and then across a soft farm field (always fall plowed). The 4 wheeler gets through but i cant take more than 40 gallons on the trailer. I do not have a shack (4 steam pan setup outside) yet but I have the hopes and location for a 16x24. I have a quote for a builder to make a drop flue 2x5, I may tell him to make it a 2x6 when I order next spring.

The question is: where do I spend first? The evaporator? Then I don't have a shack to keep it in, and may be limited on sap. Do you know anyone that sells smaller quantities of sap (~250 gallons?) In the genesee county area of ny? I could spend money to ramp up my sap collection, but I'm looking at a grand for the gas pump and 1100 ft of line to run across the hedge row to the lane where I can use a tractor. But, I'm already almost maxed at 40 taps and my 4 steam pans.

So- where would you spend first?

WESTMAPLES
10-14-2015, 07:54 AM