PDA

View Full Version : 16x20 build - Wall height question

CTsap
10-11-2015, 05:49 AM
Hi Folks - I'm starting a 16x20 sugar house this week. Originally I was planning 8ft walls until my siding source said he doesn't supply 9ft boards. I'm considering making my walls 9ft. I need about 8 inches more to cover up rim joists so 10ft siding will work just fine.
Question is how will this affect steam rise. It will have an 8/12 pitch. My evaporator will likely be a 2x4 mason.
I'm new to sugaring and this building will serve many other purposes. I'd like to go with 9ft walls but with a small evaporator and steel roof I'm thinking it's going to be a sugar steam bath in there.

Thoughts?

Sugarmaker
10-11-2015, 08:54 AM
Make the inside head room as high as you can. I went 10 foot ceiling height and never regretted it. If you grow and get a bigger evaporator the head room could be a issue. I added a Steam-away and have just enough room to get it off the pans.
If you stay with the 2 x 4, then 8 foot ceilings might work for a long time too.
Regards,
Chris

optionguru
10-11-2015, 07:20 PM
Mine is 14x 16 with 10 foot walls. I just built it so can't speak to the steam yet but many on here recommended I go with the taller walls. I love the extra room it gives me and I built semi-loft trusses to store all my tubing and buckets up in the loft and out of the way in the off season. My wife is now asking if I can build another one elsewhere on the property and use it as a "tiny house" for guests. 1200612007

MISugarDaddy
10-12-2015, 05:45 AM