PDA

View Full Version : Gravity Feed Question

ohiomaplejohn
08-04-2015, 10:54 AM
I am rather new to sugar making, I started 4 years ago when I was 14 with 5 taps boiling in a propane turkey fryer. Now I am 17 and have 56 taps and a 2' X 4' flat pan on a cement block firebox. I am expanding to 100 taps next year. (do you think I caught the bug?)

All introductions aside. Here's what I need to know:
I need to know the best way to gravity feed sap into my pan. I was going to use a pre-heating pan on top of my other pan, but I was told that the condensation on the bottom made it worthless to use one. (makes since to me)
A very detailed description would be great!

While I'm asking, what's the best way to filter sap into the storage/hauling tank? I use 55 gal drums but may be getting something with a wider opening on top. I can't find a good way to filter it.

Thanks,
John in SW Ohio

n8hutch
08-04-2015, 12:41 PM
A inexpensive way to make a filter would be to build a square out of a 2x4, and stretch an old bed sheet over it. Pour your SAP through that, you could buy a flat pre filter also, stretch that over your frame. That is what we used when I was a kid. If you're selling the syrup probably should buy the square prefilter.

As for a feed tank , you could use one of your 55 gal barrels, put a bulk head fitting in the bottom or low on the side & use a piece of tubing to get it to your pan, you'll want a valve. Half inch or 3/8 copper tubing should be plenty for a 2x4, I am guessing you don't have a float box so you can use your valve to maintain your desired SAP/syrup level. Mount the tank higher than the side of your pan. My feed tank is 6" higher. It doesn't take much.

wnybassman
08-04-2015, 03:07 PM
Back when I used my 2x4 flat pan I had a warming pan that sat on top of it. I propped it up a little bit on the front side and hung it over the back of the other one about an inch or so. Most of the condensate found its way to the back edge and dripped off.