PDA

View Full Version : Need recomendations for Hydrometer and Therometer

claystroup
06-26-2015, 12:50 PM
I am a newbie and will be sugaring for the 1st time next spring. I have been gathering and buying the needed equipment to get started on a small scale (15-20 taps next year to start). I need to buy a hydrometer (short or tall?) and Hydrometer Cup (short or tall and 1" or 2"?) and thermometer for my batch pan evaporator (2' x 3') and finishing set up (stainless steel stock pot on a gas turkey fryer burner). What would be recommended for a setup such as this? I don't want to buy a 1" test cup and find out later I should have bought a 2", etc. I would eventually like to expand as I have about 40 trees I can tap on my property plus another 10 or so on my neighbors. If all goes well this next year my plans are to upgrade to a larger evaporator like a 2 x 4 Mason continuous flow but that's about as big as I would like to get. But I am retiring May 2016 so those plans could change if I really get into this! Thanks, Clay

maple flats
06-26-2015, 04:37 PM
Clay, welcome to our little group. Please be warned, this is addictive. You can start with 15-20 taps and before you know it you grow to 1000 and can't stop there.