PDA

View Full Version : Cross Flow Thermometer Port Location

Amber Gold
04-30-2015, 07:41 PM
I have a set of crossflow pans on my evap. The thermometer port is to the left of the drawoff box, and with a 12" long thermometer probe, it's about 1.25" off the pan and is 12" into the pan. Running the evap. I get some pretty good temp swings and spikes when I start drawing off from the syrup back mixing. To help with this, I started drawing off earlier. I'm firing with hardwood and have 15 min. load times, so the fire's pretty consistent. After thinking about it, I'm wondering if the thermometer port location might be an issue. On a crossflow pan, where should the therm. port be located, how far into the pan should the tip of the thermometer be, and how far off the pan should the thermometer be?

Thanks.

mellondome
04-30-2015, 08:12 PM
1.25" wouldn't even be in the syrup in my pan.

n8hutch
04-30-2015, 08:21 PM
My probes are 3/8 off the bottom of the pan, about 6-7 inches in from the out side with about 2" of probe submerged with 1-1/2" of syrup in the pan.

S&STappers
04-30-2015, 09:21 PM
This year I had a problem with syrup burning in the corner of the pan just in front of the draw off. My probe is about 10" to the left of the draw off. Next year I'm moving it in front of the draw off. I've got a Smokey lake probe, and it recommends being placed 1/4" from pan bottom

Amber Gold
05-01-2015, 06:45 AM
It sounds like some adjustments need to be made for next season. I wonder if having them cut off and shifted down a 1/4" with a bit of an angle down taper would do the trick. I have a 6" long probe I could use, so the probe wouldn't be so far into the syrup pan, and it'd be in the syrup more.

The pics are small in the catalogues, but it looks like the equipment companies generally put the therm. port through the drawoff box.

maple flats
05-01-2015, 11:44 AM