PDA

View Full Version : Mason 2x3 or CDL 18'x48' Wood fired evaporator?

Jolly Acres Farm
04-24-2015, 08:41 PM
I'm new to sugaring. This was my first year make syrup. I started the season cooking on a camp stove. After three days of boiling on that I decided I needed to upgrade. Moved up to the camp stove plus a turkey fryer with stainless steel pot. After about 4-12 hour days boiling on that I decided to add a 65000 btu burner. At that point I was collecting much more sap than I could boil. I then made a concrete block wood fired arch, holding 3 stainless steam table trays. That set up worked well, I was able to boil 3-4.5 gallons of sap per hour.
Well I learned a lot and had a great time. The biggest thing I learned was I'm hooked on sugaring! Well I decided that for the 2016 season I would like to increase from 25 taps to 50 taps to make about 10-15 gallons of syrup for family and friends.
Well I NEED a wood fired boiler. I have 2 that are in my price range. The Mason 2x3 and the CDL 18x48 both have flat 3 way pans. The Mason runs about $945 and the CDL $1550, this does not include the normal fire bricking, pipe,ect.
I would like to get some opinions on both of these evaporator, including the pros and cons of each. Thank you for any information you can provide.

Birddog
04-24-2015, 08:50 PM
I have a Mason 2x3 with a blower and I really like it. The advice I got before I got mine was to go bigger. If you can afford it you might want to go bigger. But I have no reservations about recommending Bill Mason evaporators. I'm a satisfied customer.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Loch Muller
04-24-2015, 09:00 PM