PDA

View Full Version : Suggestions for a newbie with zero mechanical skills

Sunny
04-17-2015, 10:02 AM
I am new to the wonderful world of all things maple! I have about 15 trees in my big backyard, but am completely intimidated by many of the evaporators I see on this site.
I am not able to weld, Mcgyver, or build any of the amazing things you all have done. I don't think it would be cost effective to buy a new evaporator for my small scale hobby. I have seen plans for a cinder block arch with buffet pans, and I think that may be doable. I can lift heavy things, make fire (have access to firewood), have a long attention span and a good attitude.😃

Do you think that would be the best option for me? Any other suggestions or advice ?
Thanks!

Sunny in Indiana

saphound
04-17-2015, 11:11 AM
I think a block arch that can hold 2 or 3 hotel pans would be a good option. The trouble with a wood fired one is they take a LOT of firewood, require a stack of stovepipe out the back, many add a fan forced air supply pipe under the fire, fire brick lining, ashes to deal with, etc. A propane fired arch has it's drawbacks too, but might be a better option for you. Something like this set-up here, with some blocks stacked around the perimeter to block wind and focus the heat better to your pans.
Look at the pics on post #22.
http://mapletrader.com/community/showthread.php?25375-Another-first-timer/page3

rayi
04-17-2015, 11:17 AM
I was (and still am) in the same boat as you. I had no skill at any thing mechanical. Started out with a 2 by two flat pan. Thru the years by trial and error I have my main woods of 193 taps on vacuum and a 2 by 6 evaporator. This site got me to where I am today and you can learn plumbing metal working carpentry and a whole lot more

BreezyHill
04-17-2015, 11:25 AM