PDA

View Full Version : Any other birch tappers in Michigan?

Cedar Eater
04-03-2015, 09:55 PM
I have almost as many birch trees as maples within 100 yds of my house. I live on a small hardwood hill surrounded by a cedar bog. The maples have taken a nap, but the one birch that I tapped just woke up yesterday. I'll either be making more spiles or swapping some over from the maples. This is my first year of tapping trees and I've never tasted birch syrup, so I'm looking forward to it.

austin357
04-04-2015, 05:38 AM
If i had some birch trees i would tap them but sadly i dont

BobMac
04-04-2015, 07:22 AM
Cedar Eater, you might find this old post interesting
http://mapletrader.com/community/showthread.php?6014-Birch-Tapping-one-Month-Away&highlight=tapping+birch+trees

Cedar Eater
04-04-2015, 09:11 AM
Cedar Eater, you might find this old post interesting
http://mapletrader.com/community/showthread.php?6014-Birch-Tapping-one-Month-Away&highlight=tapping+birch+trees

Thanks for that. A five year thread is impressive. I'm only started on the first year, so it looks like it will have lots of info.

bpski71984
04-04-2015, 09:56 PM
This year I thought it would be a great idea to try tapping other trees other than your typical maple trees.so I tapped 12 paper birch and 8 walnut,wanted to try boxelder and hickory but just ran out of time.I had a guy tell me that birch syrup was the worst syrup he had,well I didn't believe him so I had to prove what he told me was wrong.so went to boiling my 15 gallons I had saved up in my freezer.it smells good when your boiling,but you will be very disappointed when everything that I heard was true,It was awful.definitely has an acquired taste, very rich taste almost like a bitter molasses.good luck and I know if you were bit by the bug like I was your going to be tapping and boiling that looks like it would produce some sap.the walnut though was a homerun it taste great,deffinatly Will b tapping more next year.

bpski71984