PDA

View Full Version : Spoiled Sap

vinkandy
04-03-2015, 03:00 PM
I have a 300 gallon tote of sap that took a spoil in the past 24hrs. I'm planning on boiling tomorrow. I think our 65 degree day on Wednesday caused problems with my storage tank. It's a little foamy and cloudy, and has the smell of spoiled milk. I'm debating on just dumping all 300 gallons. Being a novice, could I still boil this sap tomorrow? It's my understanding that it will likely be very dark with a strong flavor. I'm more concerned about my family consuming it. I'm guessing the boil would kill any bacteria, but would like a professional opinion. Thanks in advance.

Cedar Eater
04-03-2015, 03:24 PM
I'm a novice, too, but I have heard that if you dump sap, spoiled or otherwise, it's good to dump it on your garden soil.

vinkandy
04-03-2015, 04:20 PM
Well, I just boiled down a pan on the stove to test it. It tastes like crap. Here's to dumping 300 gallons and pulling taps.

Ed R
04-03-2015, 04:22 PM
if it was just for personal use I would boil it. The microbes will be killed by the heat. Anytime you have sap in a big container it goes bad faster than in smaller containers.
Sorry to hear it was not salvagable.

jmayerl
04-03-2015, 04:39 PM
Spoiled sap will not make eatable syrup. At BEST it will be ropey and off flavored, most likely it would be worse than that. Dump it.

austin357
04-03-2015, 04:53 PM
That sucks im worried about my 55 gallon drum of sap looked a bit cloudy this morn but did not taste or smell bad so i put some jugs of frozen water in it to help keep it cool till i can boil sunday evening after work sure hope i dont end up the same as you

acerrubrum
04-03-2015, 07:54 PM
I think I have a similar problem. I've boiled cloudy sap (so long as it still tasted good) before without any problem, but always wondered about how to know when to dump sap.
Is there a rule of thumb on how long sap will stay good in weather above freezing?

jmayerl
04-03-2015, 08:43 PM