PDA

View Full Version : help planning dividers

mi-maple
03-31-2015, 08:31 PM
I'm trying to plan out the pan that I'm going to have built by a friend who is very skilled at working and welding stainless steel. I'm thinking I want a 2x8 continuous flow which I plan on putting on a nice block arch. What is the most efficient way to put the dividers and should they be bent to a 90 with a small lip and welded on to the pan? Do they need to be welded all the way across or just spot welded? Also how do you plug the dividers when you shut down? Thanks everyone

superiorsyrup
04-01-2015, 07:41 AM
HI and welcome to our addiction. I am by no means an expert and have found this site has a lot of great info on it. I can tell you what I did and it seams to be working for us. I have a 2x6 sap pan and 2x2 syrup pan. On our sap pan I ran the dividers 6' (two of them). I did bend a small lip and tacked the pans together ours are also stainless. IT takes a good couple hours to get a gradient going but we get one every time. I also have a 16" x 10" x 2' copper pre-heat pan. With our home made set up we have it on our own custom built arch and we are currently cooking 20 gallons per hour. Last year our average GPH was 15.625.

Have fun and enjoy the sweet rewards

mi-maple
04-02-2015, 04:22 PM
Thank you for your help. Do you seal your dividers somehow when you shut down?

Ausable
04-02-2015, 06:50 PM
I'm trying to plan out the pan that I'm going to have built by a friend who is very skilled at working and welding stainless steel. I'm thinking I want a 2x8 continuous flow which I plan on putting on a nice block arch. What is the most efficient way to put the dividers and should they be bent to a 90 with a small lip and welded on to the pan? Do they need to be welded all the way across or just spot welded? Also how do you plug the dividers when you shut down? Thanks everyone