PDA

View Full Version : Im new to this, Help!

JennyW
03-30-2015, 01:42 PM
Hi! I just got a couple gallons of sap from my maple tree (yep, singular!) I boiled it down, got a beautiful syrup. The next batch was much lighter, and thinner, but I thought it got hot enough, and I canned it. The small amount that remained in the pan after I poured it out hardened and was like candy, if that helps. I have two thermometers, and they both read 220 at one point, but it depends where in the pot they are located. Any suggestions? Its one tree... so investing in a hydrometer or expensive thermometer is probably not going to happen.

Also, when canning it, I boiled the jars, filled with boiling syrup and then put the lids on. Then I turned them upside down. Did I screw up though? One of the jars boiled for several minutes, then I realized the syrup wasn't ready, so I turned it off, then briefly reboiled before filling. Then I realized it was supposed to boil for ten minutes. Also, I boiled the seals because my sister told me to, but then I read that I wasn't supposed to. Both jars sealed. One looks perfect, the other is lighter and thinner, but delicious.

Thanks!

Galena
03-30-2015, 02:09 PM
Hi Jenny, it doesn't sound like you're doing too much wrong though you do want to watch how long you boil the syrup for - it could crystallize on you. Were the therms resting against the sides or bottom of the pot? If so you may get a higher reading, you want the therm to read the syrup's temp, not the pot's.