PDA

View Full Version : Disinfection of tap holes

Brad W Wi
02-09-2007, 02:01 PM
I've heard a bit of spraying the tap holes with a disinfection spray. News to me!!! I assume its before putting the tap in and a bleach and water mixture. I'm wondering how many do that and what are the advantages of doing it? Also what is the mixture ratio? I just keep picking up more and more info from everyone on this site. Thank you all, as I feel I'm still learning.

mountainvan
02-09-2007, 02:42 PM
I used to use a 2% bleach solution, but switched to isopropyl alcohol, regular rubbing alcohol, after I got my ro( bleach is not good for the membranes). I think that dipping every spile, and the drill bit at every tree works better than the bleach.

Pete33Vt
02-10-2007, 03:49 AM
Rubbing alcohol is what is used around here.Dimmion Grimmsells denatured alcohol and a handy dipper to. Just about the same as farmers use to dip cows teats. Although acording to Glen Goodrich at the maple school you are not supposed to use anything that you can't drink. Good old fashion 100+ proof wiskey is what should be used.
I would have a had time tapping. ( A dip for the spouts a shot for me) LOL.

Russell Lampron
02-10-2007, 05:08 AM
A bottle of 151 Rum would do the trick. The squirrels would love that.

Russ

802maple
02-10-2007, 05:38 AM
That 151 would certainly work on something

Fred Henderson
02-10-2007, 05:50 AM
Tapping will take a little longer using that rum on every hole, just another added step.

Russell Lampron
02-10-2007, 06:04 AM
After a while the steps will turn to staggers and the trees will have holes drilled all over the place.

Russ

ibby458
02-10-2007, 06:07 AM
I used a 50/50 mix of water and peroxide last year. I think it helped a lot.

royalmaple
02-10-2007, 08:22 AM
I knew we had some rules for cleaning tap holes in Maine. This comes from the States maple syrup manual.