PDA

View Full Version : "Hobbiest" Prices

DonMcJr
03-25-2015, 06:28 PM
Im a hobbiest Producer. What is everyone selling for at our level. I only sell 8 oz and 12 oz Glass Bottles and Im thinking $8 and $12.

I figure with being a small outfit we probably can charge a little more than the big guys with 1000+ taps.

So what does everyone here think for Hobbiest Prices...

buckeye gold
03-25-2015, 06:40 PM
I sell mine for $8.00 a 12 oz bottle and $20.00 a quart. That is the only sizes I sell. I have a buddy sells his 12 oz bottles for 9.50 and the local mennonites charge $10.00 a pint $ 19.00 a quart.

Ausable
03-25-2015, 06:45 PM
Don - I can't answer Your question. We use it at home or give it away to Family and Friends. If I were making Maple Syrup for money - I would have to have a least $1,000.00 a Gallon. I would not work this hard for anyone for just money - For me - Maple Syrup making is a labor of love - no price on it. lol

TerryEspo
03-25-2015, 07:33 PM
Hi Don:

Personally I find your prices a tad high,,,BUT, if you can sell it for that , go for it.

When my co-workers ask to buy a bottle or so , I calculate around $80 a gallon and then divide that for the quantity they want. No matter what I sell, pints, quarts, baby jar, gallon, etc. I get $80 a gallon.
I don't make anyone pay more per oz if they are buying a smaller quantity.

Half a pint is half price of a full pint, plain and simple.

Good luck with whatever you do, you will sell out this year due to your publicity, lol. $500 a gallon !!

Terry

Asthepotthickens
03-25-2015, 07:39 PM
I think flat pan wood fired syrup no (ro) is worth more. We get $80.00 per gallon. $12.00 for 500 ml

TonyL
03-25-2015, 07:53 PM
Ten dollars per 12oz glass bottle. Everything we make is sold a year in advance (just 14 gallons this year), and already have a waiting list for next year.

lyford
03-25-2015, 07:58 PM
I do the same as Terry, $80 a gallon, so $10 a pint no matter what amount they buy. No complaints yet.