PDA

View Full Version : Take tubing down yearly?

11-Nick
03-25-2015, 07:50 AM
I know nothing about tubing. I have a patch of woods I could tap a couple miles from home. The only way I could logistically do it is if I put it on tubing and have a a couple collection tanks as opposed to buckets at each tree. However I don't think the property owner would allow the tubing to stay up year round. How impractical is it to put up/take down tubing each year? Probably looking at 100-200 trees.
I'm new to tapping trees. This is my first year. I'm interested in the tubing idea for the trees I already tap and others that I have access to around the house. Some of the terminology is foreign to me, though. Is there a resource you can point me to that can bring me up to speed?
Back to my original question... I'm certain there are other variables in play. Again, having no background in tubing, I don't know what those variables are.
Thanks

Maplesapper
03-25-2015, 08:07 AM
We have 304 taps; buckets and tubing on a neighbors property.
It goes up and down every year.
We buy new tubing every year. Use the old long tubings runs to cut in as drops; and run the laterals with new tubing; seems the fastest way.
Once you get a system in place it takes less and less time every year.
Initial setup in the deep snow is the biggest time vampire.

Dave Puhl
03-25-2015, 08:25 AM
Don't know if you mean 3/16,5/16 gravity lines? I take 6 up and down each year ..I use green paint and make a line on the tree which side the tubing goes on and a dot or x at the top..I number them and have a map...

PerryW
03-25-2015, 08:36 AM
I leave most of my tubinge up but I have about 120 taps worth of lines I take down. The tubing I take down is all 5/16 lines (no mainline) and is four separate runs. I break each section up into 2-3 sections and leave a piece of survey flagging in the woods to mark where the breakpoints are. I also label the top and bottom of each piece with duct tape and mark it with a sharpie.