PDA

View Full Version : Zero Tank

K.I. Joe
03-23-2015, 09:55 PM
I have the opportunity to get a commercial compressor tank about six feet high and about three foot in diameter. I was thinking of using it as a zero tank at my pumphouse. Do you think that the tank would crumble under vacuum or would it withstand the force.

Cedar Eater
03-24-2015, 08:59 AM
I'm not an expert in the vacuum systems used for sap, but pressure vessels that can't tolerate a negative 14.7 psig pressure differential are pretty rare. Some seals only seal against positive pressure differentials, but I'm assuming this tank just has threaded pipe fittings and those should be fine.

markct
03-24-2015, 09:38 AM
I would be more worried about sap in a rusty oily air comp tank ick.

maple flats
03-24-2015, 03:59 PM
I wouldn't trust it. A zero vacuum tank is labeled as such and they are tested when new at 20" vacuum. I have an older vacuum tank and run it at 19" without issue, but a tank designed for pressure is not designed to hold up to vacuum. Even a modest vacuum has tons of crushing force on it from the air pressure. If my quick math in my heat is close, at 14" vacuum, you will have over 7 pounds of pressure on every sq. inch. if you take just 1 sq. foot, that would be over 1000# crushing force on every sq. foot. (7x144)
It might be a quick way to get a load of scrap metal to fit in your truck better for a trip to the scrap yard.

BreezyHill
03-24-2015, 07:57 PM
I have the opportunity to get a commercial compressor tank about six feet high and about three foot in diameter. I was thinking of using it as a zero tank at my pumphouse. Do you think that the tank would crumble under vacuum or would it withstand the force.

No, no, no. That is a disaster waiting to happen.

Compressors have a special oil that impregnates the steel and is why they tanks last as long as they do without rusting away from the condensation they produce all the time.