PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Question

Snappyssweets
03-23-2015, 01:08 PM
Well this is a throw out to see what others do.

I am new to making syrup for the most part. I have done a pint or two in the past just for the sake of doing it. But this is the first year I have ever done anything more. Anyhow the question I have is this.

What does everyone else do with the remains out of the final filtration after you have boiled to syrup and filtered into the bottles?
I ask only because the filtration we are using is a layered cheese cloth about 5 folds thick. I then take that and set it on a cookie sheet.
I wring out any and all syrup out of this and scrape the top layer onto the sheet. It has a darker coloration.

In cane production this is the Molasses. So I have been taking it pan drying on low in oven and scraping it off. Kids love it. I figure it will make a great sweetener in my baked beans. So I was curious what do others do? Just throw it away?

Run Forest Run!
03-23-2015, 02:58 PM
Check out this thread Snappyssweets.
http://mapletrader.com/community/showthread.php?21018-Is-it-safe-to-consume-cloudy-syrup-with-nitre-(niter)

You shouldn't eat the niter. It's very a different end product than what you get when creating molasses. Also, don't wring out proper sugaring filters as that will ruin them (while I suppose wringing out cheesecloth is not that big a deal). To make use of the remaining syrup and sugars caught in the filters, put them in the freezer and then gently dip them in your next pan of warming sap. Be careful not to dump the niter into that sap. Once the filters have been dipped in the warm sap, spoon out the niter and then rinse the filters in the sink and let them dry.

Cedar Eater
03-23-2015, 03:08 PM