PDA

View Full Version : Different Trees to tap.

Joe Meyer
03-19-2015, 03:07 PM
I've been making syrup for 3 years now. I've never known till I found this forum that trees other than maples could be used. I've seen Birch and Black Walnut. I've got a half dozen Black Walnuts that I'll tap next year. What I was wondering was, is there other potential trees? Fruit trees? I'm surrounded by Apple orchards. Is that a possibility? Of course it would be with permission! Any other trees?

SlopYourDripper
03-19-2015, 03:18 PM
This site lists 22, tho most of them are varieties of maple! No fruit trees listed.
http://wildfoodism.com/2014/02/04/22-trees-that-can-be-tapped-for-sap-and-syrup/

DrTimPerkins
03-19-2015, 05:44 PM
I've been making syrup for 3 years now. I've never known till I found this forum that trees other than maples could be used. I've seen Birch and Black Walnut. I've got a half dozen Black Walnuts that I'll tap next year. What I was wondering was, is there other potential trees? Fruit trees? I'm surrounded by Apple orchards. Is that a possibility? Of course it would be with permission! Any other trees?

Not all trees will exude sap when you tap them in the spring (many do not). However if you use vacuum, you can often induce flow. Then there is the question of whether or not there is much sugar in the sap. Most will have far less than maple trees do.

I can tell you with a good deal of certainty that apple trees (which will only flow with vacuum) make rather disgusting syrup. Any cherry tree will also make a bitter syrup, which you shouldn't consume anyhow due to cyanide compounds in the wood.

Helicopter Seeds
03-20-2015, 10:09 PM
Last year was first year for me, I tapped a decent sized Butternut Tree (Some call it white walnut).
I really did not get much, but what was there needed to squeeze the jelly-like pectin in a filter cloth, then it tasted like syrup.
Maybe 6 oz of syrup.

This year with more maples on tap, I am not bothering with it.

Tidajo