PDA

View Full Version : under hood preheater

harrison6jd
03-17-2015, 08:08 PM
as I sit hear cooking away, I am looking at my setup and start thinking about a preheater. there is plenty of room under there but my question is this. how do we control the condensation that is created? I am watching the hood drip with condensation even now. adding cold sap in copper tubing will create more and it will be directly over my evaporator. do we just let it drip back in the pan? sounds counter productive but I have no experience with it. I have a home built 3x4 wood fired evaporator with a copper hood to match its size. I have the hood tilted just a little so all the condensate drips off one corner into a bucket. I have not even seen up close a commercially sold unit so any pics would help. thanks

West Sumner Sugar
03-17-2015, 08:28 PM
We had a setup like this...had. The sap came in from our storage tank and would flow through a series of slant fin (baseboard) units set over the pans and then into the rear pan. The sap would go from ice cold to pretty warm but the condensation dripping back into the pans seemed to offset the heating of the sap. We have a large fan drawing the steam through our hood. When the generator runs out of power, its like a downpour coming down.

lpakiz
03-17-2015, 08:30 PM
Harrison,
The pre heater is suspended over a drip tray. There are a couple different styles, but they are designed to catch all the condensation and route it out to the hood gutters, or wherever you might want it to go.

harrison6jd
03-17-2015, 08:56 PM
im glad you said "had". that tells me you've moved on and its not worth it. ive done the pan over the evaporator thing and the coils around the stack, both not great. im done messing around and that's why im asking here. the season is too short for more trial and error. thanks