PDA

View Full Version : Interesting History

hholt
02-05-2007, 12:35 PM
This is my first year making syrup....at least the first time since I was a kid and now my hair is gray, but I wanted to pass along a story about something that happened to me when I was in my 20s working as a contract archaeologist up near Watertown NY.

We were working on the Ft Drum Army base, surveying several thousand acres of land where the new base was to be built. There were several "ghost towns" on the old base (except in New York I suppose they should be called "ghost villages") and we found every kind of 19th century historical archeological site imaginable......mills, schools, churches, farmsteads, old family cemetaries, iron foundries, you name it.

Usually we were pretty good at figuring them out, often with the help of the historical maps, but there was one kind that had us stumped for the longest time.......and these were the field stone sugaring arches. They were never on the maps, and the only artifacts we ever found with them were broken glassware fragments and the occasional nail. At first they seemed like they were just off in the middle of nowhere, but eventually, after we found a couple of dozen or so, we realized that they were usually in sugar bushes. Also, we eventually determined that there was generally one on every farmstead when you compared their locations to the property surveys. All the arches we found would have dated to 1810-1940.

Anyway I thought I'd share that little piece of maple sugaring history. It has stuck with me for the longest time. Some of the mature sugar maple stands on Ft Drum were magnificent in the fall, but tapping trees on the base came to an end in the early 1940s when the base expanded to it's present size.

Pete33Vt
02-06-2007, 03:44 AM